Best of Gwynedd, Wales

Make sure you have a place to stay, these top parks tend to have great response times...

Sunnysands Caravan Park

Barmouth, Gwynedd

Enquire Now You enquired

Sunnysands is a family run park situated on the shores of Cardigan Bay, 3 miles north of Barmouth. From the caravans one looks straight ahead to Cardigan Bay, westwards across Tremadoc Bay to Pwllheli and Bardsey Island, southwards to Barmouth and the Cader range and northwards away into Snowdonia.

Open from:
1st April to 31st October

Disabled access, Family park, Pets allowed, Children's play area(s), Chemical disposal point, Electric hook-ups, Laundry, LPG stockist, Sanitary block(s), Shop, Swimming pool(s), Take away food, Wireless internet, Bar, Restaurant

Family Amusement Centre
Licensed Social Club

80 Holiday homes (for rent), 25 Motorhome pitches, 25 Touring pitches, Swimming pool(s), 450 Holiday homes (owned)

Nearby attractions:
Beach, Boat launch, Cycle hire, Fishing, Golf, Horse riding holidays, Sailing, Swimming (Indoor), Leisure Centre

Nearby places of interest are Harlech Castle, Shell Island, Narrow Gauge Railways, Portmeirion Italianate Village, Slate Caverns and much more.

Sunnysands Caravan Park

Gwynedd, Wales
United Kingdom
Write review


Overall rating

3.5 stars

Based on 13 review(s)


5.0 stars

have just returned home and felt it right to write a review as we throughly enjoyed our stay. The facilities were absolutely superb with everything you could need to either camp or stay in a static like we did. I have read the other reviews and I think people want perfection which isnt always the case as you can't please everybody. In terms of children running around and mis-behaving surely that is the responsibility of the parents and not the site owners as others have stated.
Myself and my partner and 2 children had a superb time in the indoor pool, the kids club in the club house, the beach is amazing and chip shop is superb. I would definately reccomend this site and the prices to stay are the going rate these days.


2.0 stars

daughter had to sweep kitchen floor on arrival, fluff in bathroom also. caravan in a nice spot although seating area seats grubby. situation of caravan was absolutely lovely - right at the top of the beach. the thing that spoiled this holiday for me was that because we had to leave early due to family comitttments therefore we could not wait for the housekeepers to check the caravan. I had personally made sure all the sheets were in the net bag provided emptied the rubish and generally left the caravan in as good a state as we found it if not better. On the monday after we came home a had a phone call from the site saying i would not be refunded my £40 pound deposit - I have to admit I was amazed and surprised that the firm does not provide a general cleaning service - in the case of the caravan we stayed in it would have taken no more than 20 mins to hover and sweep through. I paid £610 and £40 key deposit for 1 week. If I had known that this didnt clean caravans between renters I would not have booked and would have been appalled at the lack of a service provided by all other caravan sites I have been to.also if you do visit this do not bother paying £10 for wifi coverage the coverage is very poor. and you won@t get your money back.

Property manager response (29 Jul 2012)

In response to your review Sunnysands would like to point out that if you had any maintenance or housekeeping issues with your caravan on arrival you only had to pop back to reception and we would have happily sorted it for you. We do inform our customers at check-in that there is a £40 housekeeping deposit; there is a sign in the caravan and details on your checkout card of the checkout process. The £40 is refundable as long as the caravan is left clean and tidy. Sunnysands is a self catering holiday park not a hotel so we do expect that our customers clean up after themselves during their stay so that their check-out goes smoothly. You paid £610 for a week for 8 persons in one of our lovely sea view caravans which works out at a little over £10 per person per night which includes free use of all leisure facilities. The Wi-Fi is supplied by an outside operator if you had problems with it and had returned your password card we would refund you without question. The condition you left your caravan in was definitely not how we hope anyone would leave it, I checked it myself when the housekeeper informed me of the state it was in. Some of the pillows and duvets were left dirty and badly marked There was shredded toilet paper everywhere even on the astro turf on the decking. The toilet and shower room were left dirty; there was a mess of shredded paper on the back of the loo and in it. No vacuuming had been done, the kitchen worktops were dirty and sticky, food had been left in the fridge and there was some sticky goo running down the front window. It looked like you had just got up and left. The only thing you appeared to have done was stripped the beds. Our policy is to retain the housekeeping deposit in such circumstances and as I said before we clearly state our policy. I even asked you before you left if you were happy that you had left your caravan in a clean and tidy condition before we refunded your deposit and you said that you were. We have hundreds of happy holidaymakers that come back to us year after year who respect the caravans that they stay in. I am sorry but you are not one of them!!

North Wales

3.0 stars

Booked this site due to it's location (30 seconds walk to the beach) and for the swimming pool for the kids. Unfortunately when booking we were informed the pool was out of action (pity), although we were told we could use Harlech baths free of charge. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the take away chippy was amazing!! Without doubt the best fish and chips I have ever had anywhere!
The onsite shop was very reasonable price wise, and again staff very friendly.
As others have mentioned the bridge entering the site is an experience to say the least (my wife closed her eyes!) but the kids thought it was very exciting! (cheaper than the rides in the fair in Barmouth). The facilities, club house and site in general were immaculate. The showers were hot (a bit too hot to be honest) and again very clean.The beach is superb and very clean with gorgeous white sand.
Now the negatives. I've been camping for 15 years so this isn't from a 'green' camper.
The complete lack of any member of staff periodically wandering around the site to check up on what people were upto is a real negative. The amount of feral kids roaming around this site at all hours using VERY graphic language has to be seen to be believed. Ball games are also banned on site according to the website, but in reality if you are regular you can pretty much do what you like without consequence. I had to have a polite word with large groups of kids on several occasions for bouncing a leather football off both the caravan and car. Eventually someone else must have complained as a young member of staff wandered over who addressed the kids by name (obviously regulars) and apologetically asked them to move to the beach as people making complaints 'were doing his head in!'
I'd heard people refer to this site as being overun by the Brummy Mafia. I dont care where people come from and don't like that tag, but the behaviour of some of the adults was worse than the kids. Men in their mid forties having belching competitions outside the bar (3pm in the afternoon) and swearing very loudly was not ideal.
So in conclusion, the site is superb, the complete lack of staff ensuring that a small few didn't ruin everyone elses break was dire.
Would I go back ? Maybe.

As a footnote, the pitchs are small but level. The touring site was very quiet when we were there, I'm not sure I'd be as keen to go there when all the neighbouring pitches were occupied.


5.0 stars

As they say, we liked it so much, we bought the company! Well not quite, but we did buy a static caravan (available to rent, reasonable rates, phone 07915 936738!). The site is an old fashioned traditional site aimed at families, but not too commercialised like some of the large Haven/Butlins type sites. The chip shop is great, the shop is reasonably priced, the swimming pool is clean, the cafe also offers take aways, the kids love the play area and the amusements and my wife and I love the club which has entertainment most weekends. The location of the site is amazing, right on the beach with mountain and countryside views in the other direction. Can see myself going back time and time again for years to come.


4.0 stars

This was a first visit to Sunnysands. We were a party of 2 senior citizens (one disabled and in a wheelchair), 3 adults and 3 children, ages 7, 4 and 2months. We rented a private 3 bedroom caravan that had open views of the fields and mountains, this was the very back row of caravans but still only 2 minutes walk to the beach, no CARAVAN is further than this from the sea on this site.
The site is very flat so suitable for disabled guests to get around,though the ramp onto the beach is somewhat steep and you could have a runaway wheelchair if you attempt to go down it, so we didn't. A short ride into Barmouth gave easy access so that wasn't really an issue for us. The children and the rest of our party did go down onto the beach which was beautiful and clean, the sea was surprisingly warm but there were jellyfish in and out of the water, which to be fare you get everywhere in the uk now. The surrounding area of the site is lovely, very quiet at night. We didn't go in the club as the entertainment didn't appeal to us but there is a great patio area overlooking the sea where you can sit and have a drink or something to eat. The shop is small and basic. The restaurant overlooks the swimming pool and has nice food. The fish and chip shop is good. The arcade held the attention of everyone for around 10 minutes, the children (and adults) love the 2p machines but found nothing they wanted to win out of them. The pool doesn't have water slides but it does have lockers that take a 50p which is returned when opened again, changing rooms, toilets, and showers by the poolside. It's clean and safe and we all enjoyed that very much, the lifeguard even opened a brand new pack of arm bands for my 4 year old granddaughter to borrow. For me, the star of this site is the laundry. We have stayed at many many sites over the years and I have to say that Sunnysands has the best most efficient and cleanest laundry I have ever seen or used. The whole site was in fact very clean and secure. Would we go there again?


2.0 stars

I have been going to Sunnysands for years, renting from the site and from others but this year will be my last visit, the site itself is fab, everything you could ask for but be prepared for kids running around all hours of the day and night alone, the parents give them free reign.

I among others had to endure constant swearing, spitting and even fighting also expect a lot of noise as people pass your caravan after leaving the club house. You may even get a bang on the van as I did, being a single parent with 2 small children I found this rather unnerving.


3.0 stars

I have just come back home from Sunnysands with my partner, daughter and her school friend. We stayed in a superb 6 berth van which we could not fault. The beach nearby is fantastic couldn't wish for better. But alas, the weather let us down badly and spent about an hour on the beach after the first day we arrived. That was it. We didn't manage to go again because of the awful weather. A big let down for the kids, and this was in the middle of August. The campsite itself is well laid out. Easy check in with the staff. But if you have a query on the front desk the ladies ( well one ) are not the most friendliest of staff. You tend to get a frosty look when you complain. So, customer care I have experienced better. The shop is a bit disappointing. Not quite what you would expect for a site that has nearly 600 caravans. But it has the basics. The club is spacious and new looking and the bar staff are very warm and friendly. The entertainment is a bit tedious with more or less the same thing every night. Much of the entertainment is aimed at the very little ones and not much going on for teenagers. I would have been bored to tears if I was a teenager. Not a lot to do apart from a good indoor swimming pool and an amusement arcade. The cafe is very good value for money. Cannot fault the food it is excellent and give you plenty on the plate. The take aways are good too though they close too early. The weather though dry some days, were not good enough for the beach meant a trip to Barmouth town centre so many times I felt I knew where every item was in every shop. ( yawn ) ! We did venture to Porthmadog further up the coast which proved frustrating. Be prepared to wait about 10 minutes at the red light ( seriously ) before proceeding over the toll along the way. The caravan was excellent but for the same price ( £500 per week ) we have booked a villa in Cyprus for next August which is just luxurious and has it's own private swimming pool. Weather guaranteed too ofcourse. So I think we paid over the top in comparison. It could have been a great week if the weather had been better. The campsite was okay but the check out is not what you would expect. My partner didn't hoover before we left and was immediatley told " You have to do the hoovering I'm afraid we are housekeepers not cleaners. " But after abaited breath we passed our check out so we could get our £40 key deposit back. All in all if the weather could be guaranteed we would consider going back because of the fantastic beaches.


1.0 stars

i have been renting sea front caravans at this site for years this year i rented sea front 6 berth caravan 6 weeks ago in a heat wave in june the caravan was a campsite owned which was a new top quality one and fab 5 weeks later we rented a private owner one which was in the middle of the campsite it was a old dated caravan the same price as sea front awfull quality old tv only 5 channels with vidio a old camping kettle which took 15mins to boil intirior was shabby no balcony or outside table and chairs i went to the office to complain about the charge telling them i had paid the same price for this van as a new sea front one at 500.00 for 1 week and told sorry nothing they can do if i was told about the dated van on booking i would not have booked the holiday and no one botherd to come to the caravan as to why i was fuming in the reception very poor customer care when you are spending this amount of money i will never book a holiday again unless i check what date and year the caravan is and who owns it all i can say befour you book is double check what you get for your holiday and check out pictures first i think owners of some of the dated caravans have a cheek to be renting out for the same price as top spec brand new ones on the site they should be a cheaper rate unless brand new. I WOULD LIKE TO THANK YVONNE FOR THE REPLY TO MY COMMENTS AND TELEPHONE CALL ABOUT MY HOLIDAY THE CARAVAN IN QUESTION HAS NOT PUT ME OFF A HOLIDAY AT SUNNYSANDS FAR FROM IT I WILL BE VISITING AGAIN IN SEPTEMBER AS IT IS THE BEST SITE IN BARMOUTH AND THE BEST BEACH LOCATION YOU CAN GET THE SITE CARAVANS ARE TOP QUALITY AND HAVE EVERYTHING YOU NEED FOR A GREAT GETAWAY HOLIDAY


3.0 stars

We stayed for a week in an 8 berth caravan with seaview,views were stunning and well worth that little extra as the beach is practically on the doorstep.Indoor swimming pool came in handy for our 3yr old grandaughter as the weather wasn't that kind to us,however instead of 8.30-9.30(Mon-Fri) adult only swimmimg sessions the children would benefit from some swimming lesson sessions . The rules for the pool also depended on what lifeguard was on duty therefore this was not consistent which was disappointing. The shop on site was very reasonable with prices and very friendly.The club which we went to once was modern and spacious. On a visit to the arcade our son quickly won 2 prizes from the same machine,as he handed over the 2 Toy Story soft toys to his daughter a disgruntled arcade worker ensured he wasn't going to win a 3rd and proceeded to work on the machine changing the percentage of the grabber (typical).On arrival you were given a departure time when you could leave the caravan after it was inspected by the housekeepers which I could only describe as a very uncomfortable experience as they were more like CSI (cleaning squad inspectors).We spent the morning cleaning,stripping beds and folding the sheets,when the housekeepers arrived we stood there as though it was a billot room inspection whilst they went through cupboards,counted crockery,checked the oven and fridge were clean they then gave us a net laundry bag and asked us to put the sheets inside.They passed us our jackets and told us they'd have to lock the van. They signed a housekeepers itinery so that we could get our deposit back for the key from reception. We must've looked suprised and a little shocked as one of the ladies apologised.We wondered why they're called housekeepers when the holidaymakers do all the cleaning. Although there was a few negatives the surroundings,location of the caravan and having the indoor pool made the holiday very enjoyable.
Sunnysands Caravan Park, Barmouth, Gwynedd, Wales

East Mids

4.0 stars

This was our family holiday site for years when I was growing up. It was nice but a bit strange the tourers were sent to empty static van pitches. The site has progressed and the lovely flat feild behind the statics has been cleaned off and is a level touring pitch facilities are good and acess to the beach great. The only faults I can say are the feild is not big enough at high season and they will not take midweek to midweek at high season. (probably because of the lack of spaces) this is a problem to those of us who have strict rosters.
This said we have enjoyed this site since the 70's its a product of the Excelent Family run ethic that seems to be on this little part of Wales
Sunnysands Caravan Park, Gwynedd, Wales


5.0 stars

we have freinds who own a static on the site, we took our tourer as they told us it was a good site.

after being there we found a perfect pitch and go their at least once a month, staying on the same pitch, in between sheep and cows which r in the next field. its quiet, apart from a moo or baa in the morning good alarm clock

we have a 6 and a 11 year old they enjoy it, its clean . As 4 bridge i take my outfit is a avantee 556 (24ft) and lwb shogan and have no problem(if u have towing mirrors )4 which i have seen outfits with none strugle.
Sunnysands Caravan Park, Barmouth, Wales


2.0 stars

We went here with a touring van. Very under par for modern day standards but a reasonably priced pitch for bank holiday. Basically mown camping field with not too generous pitches.

Showers/toilets are a walk away as are all facilities. Elsan point in the men's toilets? Toilets not clean + had to pay £10 deposit for a key to get in. Found most staff on site pretty rude.

No mention on their website about the bridge that you have to cross - really only for the experienced to tackle crossing with a large caravan in tow (it knocked our stabiliser out of its socket on the way out!)

On the upside, right next to the beach which the kids loved. I think this would suit a family with older kids and definitely this site is not catering for anyone with a touring van. We had lovely weather for the time we were there.


4.0 stars

lovely place, we stayed in a sea front caravan wich we rented of family, we have been going for many years and will be going there again soon, altogether very enjoyable place with plenty to do for all the family.

The Past

** This review was originally posted by Sarah Bright from Stoke-on-Trent. **

We stayed here for the first time last July and revisited again in September. The site is self contained, has excellent facilites and amenities and has the most fantastic private beach area. We have stayed at many sites and can honestly say that although there are very limited number of touring pitches, there is a very friendly welcome and we have felt more relaxed here than anywhere we have stayed.I would highly recommend a visit to this site, which is central to many towns and places of interest. A very Big Thank You, Sunnysands.