Stonehenge Campsite and Glamping Pods

Salisbury, Wiltshire

3.5 stars out of 12 reviews

Offers available
Monday to Thursday - a motorhome/caravan pitch including electric for just £12 per night for Feb, March and October

Midweek stay in one of our Glamping Pods (minimum stay two nights) for just £35 per night! 1st -31of October & 10-28 Feb!

Midweek camping deal from 1st of March – 30th April and again from the 10th of September – 31st of October all size of tents at just £11 per night!

Excluding Bank holidays and School Holidays
All year
Salisbury, Wiltshire, South West England, SP3 4TQ
(Location map)
Last updated
08 Mar 2022
You enquired
Motorhome pitches
(£12.00 - £50.00)
Touring pitches
(£15.00 - £50.00)
Tent pitches
(£12.00 - £25.00)
Serviced pitches
Seasonal pitches
Motorhome pitches10£12.00-£50.00
Touring pitches11£15.00-£50.00
Tent pitches35£12.00-£25.00
Serviced pitches
Seasonal pitches

Camping pods5£25.00-£85.00
Bell tents£230.00
To rent

Wiltshire's #1 multi-award-winning camping and glamping pod site, close to Stonehenge, Longleat, Bath & Salisbury so ideal as a touring base. Motorhomes, caravans and tents are accepted here, and six Glamping Pods are also available for hire too. It’s a small site, but the facilities are outstanding and it's one of the few sites where you can enjoy relaxed open campfires and groups and families are welcome!

There are 10 hardstanding touring pitches, each pitch being beautifully landscaped, as well as two camping fields. It's won multiple awards, including Practical Caravans Top 100 Sites Best Site for Camping 2016, Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award, a Trip Advisor Excellence Award, a Platinum Loo of the Year Award. Its also a 4* Tourist Board and 4* AA Award site

Facilities at Stonehenge Campsite include new Reception, attractive, warm and clean ladies and gents wash blocks, plus Wi-Fi. Time your visit right and you can attend our Stonehenge Summer Solstice Festival from 18th - 21st June! There are also communal campfires or mobile fire pits for hire, and the Number 2 bus to Salisbury & Devizes stops just outside the park, handy if you want to leave your outfit on site and pop out for the day to visit this beautiful Cathedral city.

And you'll need to leave your car or motorhome on site if you're thinking of taking the seven-pub challenge. This involves visiting each of the hostelries that’s within walking distance of the site. Perhaps you could be the first to do it in one day!

The six glamping pods at Stonehenge Campsite (4 luxury with heating) offer an alternative holiday experience in Wiltshire – all you need to do bring is your bedding! Most have lights, power, a mini kitchen that has cups, plates and a kettle, plus a picnic table. They all have their own private area. There is everything here you need for the perfect rural retreat.

This campsite in Wiltshire is great for people who love nature. At night you might hear – or even see – owls and bats, and by day you'll see the sheep, the horses, and our resident alpacas!

As we've already said, there are lots of pubs within walking distance of Stonehenge Campsite, so if you want a break from cooking whilst on your camping, motorhome or caravan holidays, you can enjoy a variety of pub food without needing to travel too far. Less than a mile from site you'll also find a local farm shop selling deli food, while in nearby Winterbourne Stoke, Stapleford and Shrewton are more local shops to help top up your holiday supplies. There are even some nearby pizza places and Indian and Chinese takeaways that will deliver to your pitch!

This is surely one of the best campsites in Wiltshire – indeed, it is one of only a handful in the Somerset, Avon and Wiltshire region to feature in Caravan Sitefinder, Practical Motorhome and Practical Caravan's Top 100 Sites Guide. And Stonehenge Campsite is perfectly placed to take in the famous local sights. Stonehenge itself is merely a five minute drive away, or why not walk from the footpath directly from the site? Longleat Safari Park is only a 30-minute drive away, while Salisbury with its famous cathedral is just 10 miles to the south and Marlborough, Bath and the New Forest are each only about 45 or 50 minutes away by car.

Stonehenge Campsite is a lovely base for your motorhome, camping and caravan holidays in Wiltshire.

More about the parkHide
  • Allow rallies
  • Family park
  • Pets allowed
  • 5 Camping pods
  • Bell tents
  • 10 Campfires
  • Chemical disposal point
  • 25 Electric hook-ups
  • 1 Laundry
  • Sanitary block(s)
  • Shop
  • Take away food
  • Visitor parking
  • 1 Washing up facilities
  • Water hook-ups
  • Wireless internet

Stonehenge Campsite and Glamping Pods is also dog- and group-friendly with two pet glamping pods, a camper's kitchen and main reception.


Stonehenge Campsite and Glamping Pods (www)

Berwick Road, Berwick St James
Wiltshire, South West England
United Kingdom


•From Stonehenge - head west on A303 for 3 Miles. Take 1st Left in Winterbourne Stoke onto B3083 and head south for ½ mile. Site is on left. (Drive time 10 Mins Max )
•From Wylye - head east on A303 towards London for 4 miles take 1st right onto B3083, heading south. Site is ½ mile on left. (Drive time 10 Mins)

Nearby attractions

  • Beach
  • Golf
  • Horse riding holidays
  • Swimming (Indoor)
  • Tennis
  • Organised Entertainment [1000m]
  • Internet Access
  • Leisure Centre [9 km]

The campsite is an ideal touring base for Stonehenge, Longleat, Bath, Wilton, Salisbury Cathedral, Avebury, Devizes, local attractions in Wiltshire and the New Forest. It is one of the nearest campsites to Longleat Safari Park.
Stonehenge - 3.3 Miles
Salisbury - 9 Miles
Longleat - 16 Miles
Avebury - 24 Miles
Bath - 32 Miles
Bournemouth - 35 Miles

Excellent Walking Biking 5 PUBS within 4 miles
Both Boot and Bell Pubs within 5 min walk
Farm shop 10 min walk



Write review


  Thank you for visiting Stonehenge Campsite & Stonehenge Glamping Podsin person or on Website - we are keen to improve our facilities and value your feedback. William Grant - Manager

If you need any help please call Elaine the warden on 07786 734732

Overall rating

3.5 stars

Based on 11 review(s)

5.0 stars

Stayed here at last minute for one night and found it to be an amazing site lovely peaceful place and very clean facilities. The staff are so nice and helpful aswel and I will be booking to come back with my children. Thank you everyone at stonehenge campsite first class service


5.0 stars

Fantastic 2 day stay in the Fox Pod.
Beautiful grounds, lovely and quite.
Toilets, 2 x Showers in ladies & Campers Kitchen spotless,( could do with more showers)
Wardens there all the time.
Fox Pod was lovely and cosy,included was tea,coffee,sugar,kettle, toaster,cutlery,cups & plates.
You are able to hire a Fire Pit which is supplied with logs. Highly recommended.
Would Definitely go again,

Property manager response (02 Nov 2016)

Karen Thanks for your nice review of our lovely Glamping Pod. Yes we have plans for another 2 Showers however we find are 4 showers cope very well. William Owner

1.0 stars

NOT SUITABLE FOR DISABLED VISITORS OR GUESTS. Blamed council for not giving permission to build facilities. I only wanted a friend to come for a BBQ. We'd visited Amesbury services beforehand. The gentleman had sorted out and agreed a solution and he was happy. Then the woman warden/owner came over and was stressed about the wheelchair. My friend suggested that they need to look into getting the facilities. I said it wasn't clear on the website that they were none. I even offered to write a supportive letter, she said that even if they wanted to apply again she wouldn't because 'the disabled take up space'. It wasn't the fact that there was no facilities it was the attitude taken, either she was scared,ignorant or prejudiced or what. Even without the disabled access problems, there's very little space between pitches for caravans. the site as a whole is cramped. It is not Romantic. There are other costs on site, like day visitors costs and showers etc, though some they state go to charity. I will be contacting that charity. Read every page more than once on their website before booking as it is easy to miss things. I'm not the only one who fell into traps etc.

Property manager response (02 Nov 2016)

-------------------------------------- Dear Amber I am sorry that you are not happy, we do our very best to try and ensure everybody enjoys their stay.However I think a 1* rating is a bit unfair. Our site is not cramped as 35 pitches over 4 acres There is lots of space for your kids and family to enjoy and relax Yes we have raised over £3,000 for Wiltshire Air Ambulance from the 20p Shower charge We get over 10000 visiters each year and the vast majority like our spotless facilities and stunning landscaping. William Grant - Owner Hi Amber Caravan Sitefinder have now corrected the listed facilities for this park to not include disabled facilities as confirmed by the information on Stonehenge's own website. Sorry for any confusion. Regards, Caravan Sitefinder management & Campsite Owner --------------------------------------

5.0 stars

We stayed 4 nights for the summer solstice festival 2016, we wasn't disappointed, live music daily, fire pits, a very relaxed atmosphere, and the staff were always on hand, friendly, ready to have a laugh and remembered your name! The site itself was superbly laid out and spotless, facilities were very clean and everything was well labeled. The site is very dog friendly with some brilliant walks nearby. Would recommend to anyone without hesitation, and will be booking to stay again!!

Property manager response (23 Jun 2016)

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay for our four day Summer Solstice Festival! We were very happy with how it all went and you were all an amazing group of people as usual! Please do come along and see us again anytime and of course for our festival 2017! :)


5.0 stars

Spent 2 nights tenting here and could not have been happier with my stay. The hosts were lovely: courteous, helpful and eager to please. I found the lavatories, showers, and outdoor kitchen positively luxurious for a campground and very clean. The price was it nice, especially considering the camp's location near Stonehenge and just a short bus ride from Salisbury. I found great pleasure in hiking the Wiltshire footpaths and admiring the wildflowers, butterflies, and splendid hilly vistas. After a day's hike, one of the hosts chatted amicably with me about the Red Kite I had observed--and identified from handy charts in the kitchen. I'd also like to add that the whole camp had a merry air, seeming to attract kind and cheerful folks. I couldn't have had a nicer time and can hardly wait to return.

Property manager response (02 Nov 2016)

Tom Thank you Your review sums up what we aim to try and deliver to every camper - a fun filled stay. William Grant Owner


1.0 stars

Beautiful countryside marred by poor site facilities.Not enough lavatories and showers even when it wasn't full, and not spotless, even at the beginning of our stay.We liked the firepit, but thought that, at £10, the logs could have been chopped for us.

Property manager response (10 Mar 2016)

We have NEW 5* shower block see We now also supply pre chopped logs We think you will be very impressed by our facilities which have just been awarded a Platinum Award


4.0 stars

We stayed on this wonderful campsite for three days, in two motor homes with 4 dogs. William (the owner) was really helpful and extremely pleasant. The site for motor caravans/ caravans is relatively small, but that adds to the good feel of the site. Very relaxing time was had by all. Plenty of walking opportunities, and nice pubs within walking distance. The farm shop in the village is very good.

Property manager response (19 Dec 2012)

Thank you for your kind review look forward to your next visit


5.0 stars

We stayed on this wonderful campsite for two weeks, in a caravan with our collie dog. William (the owner) was really helpful and extremely plesant. He has worked very hard to create this fabulous and beautifully landscaped campsite. It was very peaceful and relaxing, and really good for the dog. You can walk into the villages and have a drink or a good meal, there is also a good farmshop for local produce on your doorstep.
We stayed in a caravan on an excellent hardstanding, and each pitch has its own picnic table. The tent area looks really good, with toilets and showers close by.
We encountered all kinds of wildlife during our stay, from deer to partridges and an abundant variety of birds, including peacocks and red kites.
I would highly recommend this gem of a site to anyone who likes being in the countryside.

Property manager response (19 Dec 2012)

Thank you guys - have made even more improvements - you must revisit!


3.0 stars

Sorry but i did not like this place. The showers and toilets are very poor, there was no warden on site when he arrived he demanded all fees in cash and of course there are no cash points in the area. First day we wanted to walk to the stones on the web site it clearly said that this was possible easily over footpaths. Again no warden to give directions and locals in the village told us the only way was up the A303 which is very dangerous with kids. The price we were charged was not the price advertised when we booked simply put he has increased his prices and expected us to stump up over the odds. I have since checked his web page and he is offering discounts for positive reviews so take these with a pinch of salt. We will not be returning

Property manager response (17 Sep 2011)

This is a totally false review- No Andy stayed on the site from Kent. Pitch fees are payed in advance like on all Campsites our rates are as per our website. You can walk to the Stones via Footpaths and we provide a plan. Our Showers are cleaned daily Andy no need to return you never came in the first place! .


5.0 stars

Stayed on Williams site with a caravan for 3 days. Excellent little site with all the facilities we required. William is a very 'hands on' owner and nothing is too much trouble. He is constantly updating and improving the facilities and landscaping. He was arranging extra electrical plug in points whilst we were there. The shower and toilet facilities were not up to Caravan club standard but I felt they were more than adequate. I believe that when he finally gets permission to put a sign up on the A303 this will be a very hard to get on location. I can thoroughly recommend this site.

Property manager response (02 Nov 2016)

Thank you. We will be putting a new shower Block this winter Update 3.11.16 Showers now in :)


1.0 stars

Booked this site in January, got a phone call Wednesday before Good Friday to say there was no space for us, Caravan Club Licence was taken away at end of December, so owner knew in plenty of time to cancel us, there is no AA pennant that was removed last year, be very wary of this site, do not book online and pay deposit you may find yourself in our situation and fighting to get your money back, there is no planning permission for this site and after researching the history of the planning I wouldnt touch this site with a bargepole

Property manager response (17 Sep 2011)

Our Site has full planning permission. I am not aware of this person and have no records of there booking - its a false review

Guestbook reviews

Great campsite, location and staff
The welcome here is fantastic. Liane and Dave are excellent wardens. I was also impressed by William's (and Barney's) rapport with the children. The facilities provided are just what is required on a campsite and the little extras like the kettle and electric toaster exceed the expected. I was so happy here that I extended my visit from 3 days to 8. I recommend the Bell Inn in Winterbourne Stoke which serves delicious food and the farm shop in Berwick St James both a short walk away.


Stonehenge Campsite and Glamping Pods

Never been to a camp site that has been so clean
This camp site is situated just off the main road and is quiet and very quaint. There are two footpaths - one leading to the village pub and the other to the pub on the main road. We have never been to a camp site that has been so clean! Not to put other sites down but this is exceptional! There is a campers kitchen fitted with cooker, microwave fridge and laundry facilities. Stonehenge is only a 5 minute drive away.


Stonehenge Campsite and Glamping Pods

Book your stay at Stonehenge Campsite and Glamping Pods