Best of Essex, East England

Make sure you have a place to stay, these top parks tend to have great response times...

Steeple Bay Holiday Park

Southminster, Essex

Enquire Now You enquired

Visit Essex for your caravan holidays and discover the magic of this county with a stay at Steeple Bay Holiday Park.

This stunning Park, which is part of the Park Holidays UK group, benefits from being close to the coast. The park also has a range of luxurious holiday homes available for hire and for purchase. All of the static holiday homes found at Steeple Bay Holiday Park are fitted with modern appliances and guarantee guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. In addition, seasonal pitches are available for guests looking to stay at Steeple Bay Holiday Park throughout the year.

Facilities include free Wi-Fi in the clubhouse and a launderette. There is a well-stocked on-site convenience store, ensuring guests never have to leave the park if they don’t wish to when it comes to topping up everyday essentials. The entertainment venue on-site is where many guests go in the evening while dining facilities are also provided at the park to ensure that if you're staying here you can always pick up something to eat and drink. The Riverside Bar is a popular haunt during the day and in the evening, and many guests spend the summer months enjoying a relaxing drink outdoors.

There are plenty of activities on offer at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, including a heated outdoor swimming pool and an adventure playground. An amusement arcade is also found on the park, while boating and water sports are offered on the River Blackwater, where guests can also enjoy fishing. Children’s clubs are available at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, which are always appreciated by parents looking for a break of their own!

The small village of Steeple is a short drive from this holiday park. If you need somewhere a little more substantial, then Southminster is only about a 10-minute drive away. From here, you can also get trains into London, if you fancy a day out in the capital, taking in the sights.

About 20 minutes by car from Steeple Bay Holiday Park is South Woodham Ferrers. A good sized town, there's a leisure centre and cinema which are great for days out, especially if the weather isn't so great.

Also about a 20-minute drive from this site is the ancient town of Maldon. It's got a nice mix of high street shops, chain shops, and quirky independents. It sits on the Blackwater Estuary and if you head down there, you can see people working on and sailing old boats – and there are riverside pubs and places to buy an ice cream, too.

Alternatively, you can visit Chelmsford, about a 40-minute drive away. It's a great place for shopping, plus there's the cathedral, an ice rink, a sports centre, a cinema, plenty of places to eat and drink, as well as a faster train link to London. Or visit Colchester. It's about a 50-minute drive away, but the lure of the zoo might be enough for some to make the journey, plus this Roman town has a castle, as well as historic walls and gates to take in.

Open from:
15th March 2019 - 4th November 2019 (approx)

Facilities:
Pets allowed, Disabled access, Family park, Children's play area(s), Electric hook-ups, Sanitary block(s), Laundry, Shop, Take away food, Boat mooring, Wireless internet, Swimming pool(s), Bar, Restaurant, Cafe, Club house

• Poolside seating area
• Children's paddling pool area
• Private Slipway for Boats
• Kids' Club for 5-14 year olds
• Arcade & Amusements Gamezine
• Entertainment Venue (karaoke, discos, live shows, competitions)


Accommodations:
Seasonal pitches, Holiday homes (for rent), Swimming pool(s), Holiday homes (owned)

Nearby attractions:
Fishing, Golf, Swimming (Outdoor), Internet Access, Games Room

Lying on the Essex creeks and inlets of the River Blackwater they are a reminder of the area's maritime past. Marshland bordering the estuary has been reclaimed for agriculture but still much remains to preserve the wildlife with the creeks and inlets of the Blackwater and Crouch providing havens for yachts and pleasure craft. Not far away is Maldon, a beautiful town with fishing boats and stately old Thames barges which throng the Hythe, and houses which date back to medieval times line the High Street. To the East is Burnham on Crouch with its quayside boatyard and old inns, which echo with nautical talk in the Cowes of the East Coast.
Steeple Bay offers all visitors and owners a warm welcome where you can enjoy the atmosphere of the heritage coast. We have our own private slipway with many walks over local countryside, which is a haven for wildlife.

There is plenty of places worth visiting:
- Chelmsford Miniature Railway
- East Anglian Railways
- Rope Runners
- Cressing Temple
- Adventure Island
- Sea life Adventure
- Promenade Park
- Colchester Castle and Museums
- Colchester Zoo

..and many more!

There are also various local events every month (festivals, markets, car boot sales, shows etc.


Steeple Bay Holiday Park (www)

Canney Road, Steeple
Essex, East England
United Kingdom
CM0 7RS
Write review

Reviews

Overall rating

3.0 stars

Based on 17 review(s)

Essex

4.0 stars

Having read reviews online I was seriously worried about what we would find when we arrived.

The driveway is very long but that does create a sense of isolation and calm away from the rest of the world. The first impression of the park - clean but not brand new.

Admittedly the caravans aren't all brand new and some look a little worse for wear but generally on the whole it looks like a typical caravan park.

The entrance is locked by a gate that you can get in via intercom. The reception and the rest of the facilities are well signposted and clearly directed.

My boyfriend and I camped on the very large field by the fishing lake. We collected our pack and were told to camp wherever we liked on the field.

The field is flat and well maintained, there was no rubbish and the lawn was being mowed as we arrived. I can't comment on the caravans but there was a well sheltered washing up shed that had 5 sinks in it. Attached to the side of that (behind another door) was the waste disposal.

The drinking water tap wasn't labelled but the staff informed us that it was safe to drink. The toilets and showers were kept in good order. They were visibly cleaned every day. The ladies toilets are locked by a code so only authorised people can use it. There were 5 toilets and 4 showers. Each shower had a cubicle door and also had a separate changing area attached.

We used the pool once whilst we stayed (the weather was torrential rain most of the time) admittedly it was cold but it was large enough to do a couple of lengths and was fully supervised by a lifeguard during opening hours.

There is a large playground for the children and entertainment was offered though we didn't go. The toilets inside the pub are of a far better standard than my local and the food is reasonably priced too.

There is a small shop located within reception which sells the basics that you need. The staff were polite, helpful and even froze our ice blocks for our cool box.

The area is lovely for a quiet stroll and you are literally on the sea edge! We visited Southend for a spot of shopping and a meal out. We also shopped at Maldon as it has a bigger supermarket than in Burnham.

Overall I would say that our stay was far better than we first thought. The facilities provided are more than adequate for camping - it's a pity about the weather. The site is obviously being improved as there was always people fixing things and mowing lawns etc. I would definitely recommend this site for campers and will be coming again especially at the price we paid! Great Bargain!

Uk England

5.0 stars

Hi there , I have been visiting this site for four years now and i think it is superb .
Over the years this camp has had bad management but the new owner is great.
The site is cleaner and the entertainment it great for all ages.
The shop has all your basic needs at reasonable prices.
The Swimming pool is fairly big and has a baby pool
If you are looking for a cheap getaway this is the place to go.

london

4.0 stars

We had a brilliant time.Brian and his team could not have made us more welcome.If you have a boat or jet ski this is a safe place to launch from.ps remember to bring your insurance with you.
Loads of nice double figure carp in the lake .the pool was warm all the time.kids loved loopy the rabbit. PS there are a group of seals with pups living on the opposite bank of the river shown to us by a friendly caravan owner he said they had been living there years amazing why did every one miss them? this is special We will be back Ann & Mark
Steeple Bay Holiday Park, Essex

smith

1.0 stars

After visiting this site on may occasions, a family member has a van there. Although my family member has made there plot lovely and they have a good standard of life for themselves and the kids, the facilities that you get on the site ae poor.

The shop is only open 3 hours a day, the swimming pool the same and although supposed to be heated for the past 2 seasons has been cold as you like, The entertainment can on occasions be resonable, but for the total yearly cost of over £2500, is now where near the standard you would expect. the actuall site is in a state of disrepair, with empty plots. over flowing bins normal and dog poo ones, glass and rubbish all over the place and in general a mess. The staff in the office are rude and rate them selves and do not give you the time of day, the only ones who are polite are the matainancend, who all say hello and are well mannered.
Steeple Bay Holiday Park

redditch worcester

5.0 stars

hi, i stayed only 2 nights due to only visting family but the staff was great even giving us a phone message when they was busy, the pillows, duvets and matterss was all very clean and we have been to many sites around the uk but not all of them clean pillows, duvets and matterss the only bad thing was that it was windy but that wasnt the staffs fault lol.
Steeple Bay Holiday Park

Essex

4.0 stars

I have owned a caravan for a few years now. I find it a friendly site and the children can play safe as most of the owners help keep an eye on them. Last year the park went through a very rough patch which now seems to be getting better. Yes there are still some problems with the park like the mini golf that was there has gone. The kids enjoyed playing on this.
The club house has many theme nights which is always fun. With other events going on.
The main down fall is the security which was very good when Lee was was the security manager. There does not seem to be any security touring the site day or night as he did.
The park is being cleaned up and over time I hope it will get better. Plus the swimming pool is still in need of repair so hopefully this should be done by next year.
I would recommend this site as it is friendly in both the staff and the owners.
Steeple Bay Holiday Park, Southminster, Essex

London

4.0 stars

I Decided to come back to this park again as i had such a good time in june. I was there to enjoy the bands in the sands event. The atmosphere was great and i bumped into the general manager was remembered me from my previous time there. He was very funny as he was not in his normal uniform instead in casual clothes meeting and greeting everyone around him. The food was lovely again and the entertainment was amazing. There was enough entertainment for all ages especially the children they really do love loopy, loopy really does look out for all the children. I want to say a big thank you to all the staff who made my holiday so good, who knows maybe i will be visiting more often next year.
After visiting this website i had a few concerns about the holiday i had booked at Steeple Bay. i decided to go to view the park for myself as i hardly ever get away. And when i arrived at the park i was surrounded by beautiful countryside ( as i come from london this is a rare sight). Anyway i went to the main office and was greeted by Tracy she was very polite and told me where i could find my caravan and also advised me about the bad weather that they had been having. When i got to my caravan it was flooded outside due to the downpour that they had the previous night. I went back to the office and spoke to the General Manager Lee Ingram. He assured me that the area around the caravan would soon be clear of the water after a few hours it was clear and the staff were very apologetic. (Even Mr Ingram was outside my caravan with a machine helping to pump away the water) Whilst i was walking around the park i was surprised to see so much wildlife there were barn owls and even seals across the sea on the other bank. i went to the clubhouse and was surprised to see the different events that they had on offer. There was karoke, quizzes and even games being played in the pool. The bar staff were friendly and were always clearing away the mess that we had made. Me and the kids really enjoyed swimming in the pool and were surprised at how warm the pool was considering the sun was not out. i would recommend that people not judge this park by the comments that have been made but instead visit the park to make up your own mind. I look forward to visiting the park again this summer!!!
Steeple Bay Holiday Park, Southminster, Essex

bucks

4.0 stars

well i had read about steeple bay and was also very worried about going to this park. my mum,myself and my 3 children go away every year and this year we decided to go here. well we got there to find the camp is in a very quiet area which is full off wildlife. well the staff are very very nice and could not have been more helpfull if they had tried. the club was very quiet only about 4 children [was out off season] but still out came loopy rabbit to entertain them which my youngest being 4 fell in love with and held his hand and took him all over the club. the pool is outside but dont be put off as its very very warm but could do with being open later as only open till 5 in the week. the shop is only open till 2 but if ask in the cafe they will normally open it for you. dont let other reviews put you off as this park has now been taken over and is nice iff looking for a quiet time with friendly staff and nice caravans. thankyou steeple bay xxx

essex

4.0 stars

we bought a new van at the end of last year just before the new ownwers who have now taken over the site. we have seen a great improvement on the site both with staff and entertainment. the pool is kept clean,the cafe is clean and the staff are always polite and very helpfull.we have had a great time here already and we have only just started the season keep up the good work things can only get better.

england

1.0 stars

well I had a lovely time splashing in the mud I wasnt sure what was cleaner the great muddy ditches everywhere or the swimming pool.The cafe when its open has gone down hill since the company took it away from the previous people they served good hot traditional and home-made foods now all you get is poorly cooked no choice when its open. The shop over priced no choice never open. The staff are rude self important and need to remeber who pays their wages and that the park is not for their own private amusement. The club well cant say much if anything good.The laundrette old machines that have been there at least 15yrs they smell are over priced and your clothes come out dirtier than they went in.The mess that is the caravans leading up to the sea looks like a pikey yard.
The back road is not a road just a dirt track with holes stones and no lighting. The site have spent money on bringing on a hire fleet and spent money on putting in concrete post only for the lorries to churn up and damage existing pathways and grass verges that have now become unsightly and dangerous and how much will that cost to put right if it ever does.
I dont want to even give it a star rating

london

3.0 stars

hi
i have a static caravan at steeple and last year the lady who works in the club was always rude to the children and very miserable.
All parents were hoping she would not be here this year, but oh yes she is here and just as moany and rude and miserable.
someone have a word with her and show her how to smile and learn her how to talk with out growling.
thank you...

Derbyshire

3.0 stars

Hickling Notts.Caravan Club CL
Although this is just a small site Near Grantham canal (Only takes 3 units) There is a nice pub, The Plough, opposite.That serves cask ales and good grub. Circular walks which take in parts of canal towpath are a pleasant.
Very welcoming

1.0 stars

STAY AWAY FROM STEEPLE BAY!!! MANAGMENT ARE RUDE AND UNHELPFUL ITS THE DIRTIEST PLACE IVE EVER BEEN. THE CAFE FOOD IS NEVER COOKED PROPERLY MANY OF TIMES MEAT IS RAW, TOILETS ARE FILTHY AND WATERS ALWAYS COLD INCLUDING SHOWERS AND SWIMMING POOL, THE POOL HAS ALOT OF BROKEN FLOOR TILES IN THE POOL, ALOT OF PEOPLE AND CHILDREN HAVE COME OUT WITH A BLOODY FOOT. WOMEN IN THE OFFICE ARE EXTREMLY RUDE AND INTIMADATING. SINCE THESE NEW OWNERS HAVE TOOK OVER THIS YEAR THIS ONCE LOVELY BEAUTIFUL PLACE HAS TURNED INTO A VERY DIRTY UN CARED FOR DUMP!! NEW MANAGEMENT ARE VERY GREEDY AND WOULD RATHER NOT SPEND MONEY ON GETTING THINGS FIXED. THEY ARE SEEN EVERY WEEKEND IN THE CLUBHOUSE GETTING DRUNK. WHENEVER YOU HAVE A PROBLEM DONT BOTHER TELLING THEM BECAUSE THEY WILL DO NOTHING TO HELP.

I HAVE BEEN COMING HERE FOR 11 YEARS AND I WONT BE GOING BACK UNTIL NEW MANAGEMENT HAVE TOOK OVER BUT WE ARE AT WATERSIDE NEAR ST LAWRENCE BAY, IT IS FANTASTIC HERE WE LOVE IT, THESE PEOPLE KNOW HOW TO RUN A HOLIDAY PARK ITS EVERYTHING STEEPLE BAY ISN'T!!!!

1.0 stars

STEEPLE bad HOLE!
What a place this has turned into! Management are rude, useless and not interested in the people they just want an easy life. I have seen scrap yards looking cleaner! They say about the lovely swimming pool!! What a joke i suggest you fill it in with some of the other bad you have been digging up and filling the fishing lake in with then invest in a new one!!
The clubhouse is festering after years of neglect and smoke damage. WHAT ARE YOU PLAYING AT!
In all honesty i would rate this site as -10
PLEASE CHECK OUT THE FORUM PAGE.

1.0 stars

this place is terrible. go to the forum part on this website, in the ' uk parks, camping and touring ' section and have a read of ' steeple bay.... ' it may well be the worst holiday park in the country. i strongly advise you read a few of the entries in the above mentioned section. beware.

1.0 stars

All In all, I fount myself going to Steeple for quite a few years, the first 2-3 years were lovely, really enjoyable for the whole family, shamefully over the past 3 years, it has gone down hill big time, dodgy, bad and unplesent staff, unruly kids running amock, at one stage having 5 caravans all being set on fire down a back round, which could of been very dangerous for owners near by.

Also the swimming pool is a mjor health hazard, and the club house is constantly having the work that needs to be done just pasted over for a year, and nothing being done.

Personally, avoid at all cost, but on the basis that you do get sucked in, into the evil little circle it is, keep your head low and your eyes shut, its the only humane advice I can offer.

Property manager response (28 Sep 2007)

In response to this matter I can assure you that all visitor comments are recorded and the neccessary actions are taken to address any issues that you may have with the holiday park. As set in park policy if you feel you have any issues during your stay they should be reported to park reception immediately. The park is undergoing improvements but these works are kept to a minimum to avoid disturbing guests.

Essex

5.0 stars

I visted the site back in 2005 looking to rent a holiday home for the holidays for my family and myself, i found there to be plenty to do on site and every one we meet we very friendly and helpfull with any questions we needed answered, We loved Steeple that much that we brought i holiday home so we can go back when ever we like, they cater for all ages from the young to older generation, there is a lovely riverside bar with plenty of entertainment in the evenings, a lovely outdoor heated swimming pool, crazygolf and many other things to keep the small one out of harm and from under your feet.
There is an onsite shop which stocks mosts thing you need. a lovely picnic area next to the water so you can relaxe and the children can still play.
If you visit Steeple bay holiday village you wont be unhappy you will want to come back again and again the same way we have, hope you enjoy your holidays.

Essex

Visited this site for a week-end last season,and enjoyed it so much that we paid for a pitch for all season.It cost us less for the year, than it would for 2 weeks abroad. The touring field for tents is huge,and you can pitch where you like, its good that they only have a limited number of pitches,as this means that you are not crammed in, or limited for space. This park is ideal if you have kids and dogs like us,and more suited for those that enjoy a relaxing break, rather than non stop action.Although saying this the club is open during the day for the kids to play in,and have the usual stuff like a pool table and fruit machines.The swimming pool is lovely, and on the times we ventered in,was nearly always heated, it is manned throught out the day by a life guard,and the only negative comment about this is that maybe in the height of the season, they did not shut for an hour over lunch, this did cause a bit of a problem when they re-opened as queues of people would run to find a seat.They have a lovely fishing lake in the middle of the field,and although we didnt catch the big ones, the kids thought it great that they got loads of little fish.The shop is well stocked,but like everywhere else a little over priced,we found it easier to nip into the town about 3 miles away to do our shopping.The club is open every night and they have entertainment on if thats what you like, but personally it was great just to sit out of the tent and enjoy the peace and surroundings, you are right on the path for some lovely walks,ideal for the dogs. The hut for washing up is large,but you do need a universal plug,as none of the sinks have one,but the water was always hot. The shower cubicles were clean and again lovely hot water, and were cleaned every day.The cafe on site serves lovely food and very reasonably priced. The staff were always happy,easy to talk to, and willing to help with any queiry. Hasten to add we will be paying for a seasonal pitch again this year.