Best of Cumbria, North of England

Make sure you have a place to stay, these top parks tend to have great response times...

Park Cliffe Camping and Caravan Estate

Lovely site only 3 miles away from Bowness-on-Windermere. We have plenty of great facilities available on the park.

Facilities:
Children's play area(s), Electric hook-ups, Sanitary block(s), Wireless internet, Bar, Restaurant

Accomodations:
60 Touring pitches, 60 Motorhome pitches, 70 Tent pitches, 3 Holiday homes (for rent), 12 Camping pods, Holiday homes (owned)

Nearby attractions:
Water Sports

Keswick Pencil Museum
Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway
Go Ape


Park Cliffe Camping and Caravan Estate (www)

Birks Road
Cumbria, North of England
United Kingdom
LA23 3PG
Write review

Reviews

Overall rating

1.0 stars

Based on 1 review(s)

1.0 stars

Website does not reflect access to Windermere. Booked for 2 nights, asked to cancel 2 night on arrival due to location and miss information on website. Refused refund. Not suitable for motorhomes as would need to move. Roads very busy with no paths for walking. Facilities clean, however no heating in shower block. Asked for a refund again when leaving after 1 night, manager was going to telephone within an hour, not done. Very over priced, info on website miss leading. £66 for 1 night and no communication. Would definitely avoid.

Property manager response (01 Jul 2017)

Thank you for taking the time out to leave us this review. Obviously, we are disappointed with your comments as we pride ourselves on all elements of our facilities and customer service and generally feel that this is reflected in the majority of our reviews. It is also reflected in the fact that we were one of only three finalists in the Visit England Holiday Park of The Year this year (having been awarded Cumbrian Holiday Park of The Year in 2016). We try to take a positive view of negative reviews on the very remote occasions they occur, and view them as constructive feedback to help us improve Park Cliffe further however, in honesty, we’re struggling to find anything in here we can act on. Our website clearly shows our location in relation to Windermere and even goes so far as to provide directions to make the approach in a motorhome or with a caravan as easy as possible. The ‘busy’ road is over half a mile away and as our website shows, is a key route through the lakes. Although this means it can be busy at peak times, it also means we are lucky enough to be serviced by a regular bus service to local towns, cafes, pubs, shops, restaurants and visitor attractions, including the ever-popular Lake Windermere Cruises which provide an additional public transport option. I understand that when you made your concerns known, we gave you information on cycle routes to local pubs and bus times and that you decided to enjoy a barbecue on your first night’s stay with us. Our manager tried to ring you, but the number we had been given was wrong and we were unable to call you back to discuss your concerns. All in all, we feel we did everything we could and provided our usual high level of service which is reflected in the majority of our other reviews, however, if you would like to call or email us, we would be happy to discuss this further.

glasgow, scotland

Note: This review was left while under different management

We have just returned from a weeks break at Park Cliffe where we rented one of the static homes. It was very comfortable and well equipped. There was a nice new flat screen tv, the double bed was very comfortable, 'better than most hotels we've ever been to' The staff were very friendly and helpful. The whole place was spotlessly clean and well kept. Ideally situated for exploring the lake district. We would definitely recommend!

Southyorkshire

Note: This review was left while under different management

Dont go if your camping !! its not Park Cliff, its camp on a cliff, they say "gentely undulating " but we dont agree it is hill side. I dont feel happy about paying £21 to sleep on a hill side, one might expect a patch of flat ground for that price. The shop on site is expensive. The staff are lovely !! Park Cliffe Caravan & Camping Estate, Windermere, Cumbria

Scotland

Note: This review was left while under different management

A beautiful site just off the A592 to Windemere, we drove 7 hours from Torquay to get to this site, and once there, we immediately relaxed in the lovely countryside surroundings, the site is nicely laid out, with plenty of hard standing pitches, heated toilet’s and showers, a super children’s play area, a scenic dog walking walk, which gives you great views of Lake Windermere plus a restaurant, shop and take away. The staff are very helpful and friendly and if you don’t want to take your motorhome or you just fancy leaving the car on site the next day, there is a bus service a short walk away from the site that takes you into Windermere. Park Cliffe Caravan & Camping Estate, Windermere, Cumbria

Guestbook reviews

We stayed here in a camper van with my daughter and her husband and toddler. Beautiful setting very picturesque with excellent facilities and spotless showers and toilets. Very quiet and friendly too. The bar staff were very good and we had breakfast in the restaurant. Would highly recommend this site.

-

Park Cliffe Camping and Caravan Estate

This is my second time staying at Park Cliffe for the weekend of the Great Windermere Swim. The campsite is clean, facilities are great, nice warm shower blocks, and plenty of them, I have never had to que. There are lots of different spots to choose from depending on what you want, I have always stayed high up to experience the views of the water and countryside. The best thing about this campsite is the on-site restaurant which serves a range of lovely hot food. Both times we have never cooked, we always eat on site and every time it has been great. We never want to leave so we are going again in August. Location is fantastic, great for cycling and to get to nearby towns. There is nothing I would change. TOP CLASS.

-

Park Cliffe Camping and Caravan Estate

We were in a motorhome travelling around the UK for a month and this has been the best park by a long shot. Staff were friendly and helpful and the amenities are exceptional. Wish they did it this well on Australia. Great walks up the mountain and the kids play areas kept them entertained for hours. Would 100% come back!

-

Park Cliffe Camping and Caravan Estate

"We have stayed at Park Cliffe three times this year, it is now our favorite park! The staff are very friendly and the park is kept spotless. Food in the restaurant is always excellent and good value for money. We will definitely be back."

-

Park Cliffe Camping and Caravan Estate

Excellent first visit to the site ! Yes we did find a slight hill to camp on but we did expect this ! We will
certainly be returning !!!

-

Park Cliffe Camping and Caravan Estate

We have stayed at Park Cliffe now 3 years running. Although we have to book a whole year in advance this
just proves its popularity. Great for kids, the beck entices them to forget the electronics.

-

Park Cliffe Camping and Caravan Estate