A fully equipped, well-maintained and landscaped site, set in the Peak National Park, within easy reach of the Derbyshire Dales, Historic Houses and attractive Derbyshire villages. Close to the Tissington and High Peak Trails. AA 4 Pennant Site and English Tourist Board Graded 4 Star.
The Peak District provides an ideal centre for touring the National Park. It lies in a secluded dip in the hills prolifically planted with trees and shrubs to provide a sheltered park for tents, touring caravans and motor vans. The whole site is meticulously maintained to a very high standard from the spotless ablution blocks to the neatly trimmed grass.
The site shop stocks a complete range of goods including groceries, books and magazines, toys, souvenirs and fresh local dairy produce. A selection of caravan accessories are available and there are exchange facilities for both Calor and Camping Gas. Dogs on leads are very welcome but are excluded from the shop and toilet blocks. The two excellent ablution blocks provide hot showers at no extra cost, deep sinks for clothes washing and outside sinks for pots. In addition there is a coin operated laundry, drying and ironing facilities adjoining a small playroom with amusement machines.
Games Room and woods
Dovedale Haddon Hall
Carsington resevoir (approx. 5 Miles)
Bar and restaurant - 500m
Take-away food - 700m
Based on 13 review(s)
10 Aug 2017
Great site in a area of stunning natural beauty. All facilities are well kept and have recently undergone renovations so it all looks really clean and tidy. Staff were all really friendly and willing to help out with directions to local amenities. We would definitely return.
03 May 2017
Great place. Very well kept. Lovely mowed lawns, flowers and park area's for children. The park isn't on just a big flat field. It's all on different levels which adds character. The staff were really helpful and made sure we were hooked up properly and that we were happy with our pitch. It's one of the better sites we've been to. Would highly recommend.
19 Aug 2016
We were warmly welcomed by Paul and his lovely wife who were very accommodating and went out of their way to make us, and our children, feel at home. The quiet and relaxing site is spaced out with a variety of well-kept pitches, we were even asked if we would like full or partial sun! The toilet and shower facilities were always available and cleaned to a high standard. The little shop had all essentials and more. This site is perfectly situated with access to many picturesque walks and bike rides. I can thoroughly recommend this site and we will definitely be returning.
10 Aug 2016
What a lovely site this is I have had a lovely time,the toilets are lovely and clean ware runs nice and warm for a lovely shower the shop is well stoked and the lady in there a really helpful helping the children was not a promblem at all. The wardens were polite and helpful I will be returning again.
05 Aug 2016
First impressions were very good. On entering the caravan park you drive up a tree lined road to the shop where you book in. One of the wardens asked if we wanted to unhitched the caravan and they would site it for us, which we did. Not only did they site it they got out a spirit level and got it perfectly level for us, a great start.
There are three levels to this park, the top level is for static caravans and where the shop is situated. The shop stocks essentials like bacon, eggs, a good supply of fresh duck eggs, bread, milk, wine & beer. There is a laundry room, a tourist information room along with a toilet/shower block and a small play area for the younger ones.
The middle level is on a slope and is for tourers, motorhomes and tents with a few statics around one edge.
The lower level is a flat area also for tourers, motorhomes and tents. There is a second toilet/shower block here and a second play area for the young ones. The swings have been recently refurbished and a deep layer of bark on the ground for anyone falling off the swings. There is a small field with goal posts and a small wooded area where my grandson spends most of his time climbing trees and falling into nettles. He soon learned what Dot leaves are for. There is an undercover dishwash area which was kept spotless. There is a cordoned off area with plenty of bins all marked up for recycling.
The site itself is kept immaculately clean and tidy and the grass is kept short.
We found all the wardens running the site to be very helpful.
Both toilet blocks were cleaned twice a day and were kept in a very clean condition. There was plenty of hot water for the showers with no time restrictions on them.
Dogs are allowed on site but must be kept on a lead at all times.
Riding bikes and scooters along with ball games are restricted to the lower levels only.
There is a bar/restaurant a few hundred yards from the main entrance and a petrol station/shop next door to that. Just up the road there is a farm butchers which is well worth a visit.
If you are looking for a quiet relaxing site then I can highly recommend this one.
28 Jun 2016
Great camping site, ideal location for visiting the peaks for walks and cycling. Local towns Buxton, Ashbourne, Bakewell and Matlock all within 20 min drive, plenty of local pubs for eating out if you want to be lazy and not cook (like me)! Farm shop across the road for fresh local produce – great for BBQ, although the site had a well-stocked shop too. Arrived on site and greeted by a lady who explained everything about the park, she then radioed to one of the wardens and a young lad came up to show me where to pitch. He took me to the bottom of the park to a lovely wooded area, explained where drinking water, toilets were, etc. In the evenings, the Park Manager was seen walking round talking to customers. Would definitely stay here again, thanks for a lovely time.
Derbyshire 23 Jun 2016
Stayed here with my dad in his tourer over Easter. On arrival, was greeted by a friendly female who booked us in & explained where everything was i.e.: tourist info, laundry, toilet blocks and shop opening times, a warden came and showed us to our pitch, which although slightly sloping on middle field we didn’t mind as caravans are self-levelling anyway. The weather was very wet this Easter which didn’t help as the wardens had to tow us off pitch across the grass when we had to leave, most helpful. Even the toilet blocks were kept clean despite the weather at a busy time, also heated so nice and warm. There are 2 playgrounds for children to play and a wooded area to walk your dog. The shop stocks most essentials like milk, bacon, eggs, bread, tin food, camping equipment, wine & beer. All the staff are lovely and very helpful if anything is needed. We didn’t let the weather dampen our spirits as there are lots of indoor places to visit such as Haddon Hall, Chatsworth and the Caves at Castleton, so we still had a great time. Will visit this campsite again as it’s very central to everything. Looking to book again in August and seeing the Park Managers as they are very nice people. Ps: I’ll have another cheese burger waiting as you drive past.
08 Jun 2016
Another lovely stay at a well priced, welcoming site with super facilities. On all our visits we have found staff friendly and helpful, the kids love the layout of the site, especially the proximity to the trail and the great butchers shop over the road. The toilets and shower blocks are kept clean and warm. The only black spot on a lovely week was the rudeness with which another visitor spoke to the staff regarding a problem with their rally booking - it was a shame that my children had to listen to their appalling language! Our next visit is already booked.
05 Jun 2016
After arriving in the shop/office to get my pitch number, I was greeted by a most unpleasant warden who did nothing but complain about the rally I was a part of, the job she was doing and the rules and regulations according to her! No flags as her rescue dog didn't like them! Every one spread around the site as they don't do rallies! She didn't even appear to like her own job, complaining about it all the time. Two toilet blocks with 2 showers and 6 toilets in each for a packed site of over 100 pitches! One was permanently locked so we are down to two showers and 6 toilets! The showers were cold, poorly designed and the floors were always wet.Off the site by 12 noon or extra charges are incurred at £5 per hour apparently. I didn't stay to find out exactly how they would get this money from anyone but I can honestly say I would not have paid anyway. The site itself is situated in the heart of Derbyshire alongside the high peak trail amongst others. The charges for this site are very high and not worth it as the site is very sloping and when pitched the rear of the van was at floor level while the jockey wheel was jacked high off the floor with blocks. Not the best way to park! We were given pitches that are so close to each other it felt like sardines in a tin. It was also made very clear to us they prefer seasonal pitches with touring vans rather than tourers doing exactly that - touring! I can honestly say I would never recommend this site to anyone. It's overcharged, over packed and under whelming!!
Property manager response (12 Jun 2016)
On arrival, we may have chatted about my job but that wasn’t a complaint or criticism as I love what I do, just merely stating a fact on how busy we were. Flags are not permitted on the park as stated on park rules notice boards around the site. Facilities are more than adequate and are cleaned twice a day – cleaning times are on the doors, so one closed whilst being cleaned whilst the other one is open. We have just under 100 pitches, not over that figure and they are not all filled. Your group were accommodated as close together as possible coming at the end of a very busy spring bank holiday week. You state you were spread all over the site yet contracted this by saying ‘given pitches so close it felt like sardines in a tin!’ Our pitches are 5 metres apart. There are no extra charges of £5 per hour after 12 noon, so have no idea where you got that information from as it’s incorrect? Our prices are very fair and competitive. Departures are mid-day and being high season, some pitches are re-booked out so are required for new arrivals, this would have been informed to everyone who booked in. There are some sloping pitches, but we are in the Peak District. We are sorry if you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, but we were more than happy to have listened to any of your comments if you had took the time to speak to us rather than leave us a review like this.
Lancashire 10 Jan 2016
On arrival too the site which was very clearly signed posted to office we was greeted by the lovely owners we was then shown to our pitch by 2 lovely helpful blokes the site itself was very clean and tidy there was 2 Parks for my kids to play on the toilet blocks have to be the cleanest I have ever come across.the local area is great for walks and there is lots of cycle tracks.
There is also lots of town to go shopping of just to look at. It was the lovely we went back in Oct now we can't wait till March when they open again to go back x
Dudley 07 May 2012
Just came back from a long weekend stay. The staff were really friendly and helpfull. The whole campsite was spotless and the facilities where cleaned througherly every day.
Fish and chip van is a god send for when we first arrived because it was late and didn't really want to cook on the Friday night.
The showers were nice and hot but i think i went a bit to late in the morning for my shower because half way through the water pressure stopped!!! My other half kept bragging that his shower was 'cracking' because he went at 6am. But on the whole that is the only thing i could fault from the whole weekend stay.
We enjoyed our stay that much we are thinking of leaving our tourer there in one of their seasonal pitches later on in the year.
nottinghamshire 26 Apr 2011
drove up drive that was spotless and booked in recieved a freindly welcom from sue & paul(manegers)escorted to pitch,site rules explained no fires,bbq ok,low noise after 10-11pm,good for family park.our stay was was made more enjoiable due to the obvious bond,relationship,humour and dedication between staff&manegers nothing to much trouble.toilet blocks could be biger as we had to que for showers but they were spotless and kept that way 24 hrs a day if possable,i saw them being cleaned by paul&memberof staff @11pm next morning @630 thats dedication and they still helped every one with a smile they then said "got to go to work now"and started litterpicking.i love this site use it you wont be disapoited you are a name not a number
STEVE impressed from nottm
Lancs 16 May 2006
the caravan site was very quiet ideal for the relaxtion. The shop was well stock and a reasonable price the only down side was the tiolet block for the size of the site they were not that big they could of alsobeen a bit cleaner the location to the surrounding area was also very good